Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

Scholarship Provided by : Women's Basketball Coaches Association

Scholarship Amount

Various Amount

Application Deadline

December 28, 2016


The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award recognizes the nation's most outstanding NCAA Division I senior women's basketball player who stands 5 feet, 8 inches or under. The award is presented annually during the WBCA Awards Show which is a part of the WBCA National Convention.



Any senior player at an NCAA Division I institution who is 5 feet, 8 inches tall or under.


□ Plays for an NCAA Division I institution
□ Is a senior (final year of eligibility)
□ 5 feet, 8 inches or under
□ Game-by-game statistics from senior year of play
□ One letter of recommendation (includes campus and community activities, academic and athletic honors, leadership and character qualities and justification for earning award)
□ Excellence in the classroom and all-around basketball ability


All NCAA Division I head coaches who are WBCA members may nominate any player on their team who fits the above criteria. Nominations must be submitted online.


The recipient is selected from the nominees by the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award Selection Committee using the criteria above.

Pacific Islander, Hispanic, Caucasian, Asian, American Indian, African American

Similar Scholarships

Academic Merit Scholarship
Amount: $2,500 | Deadline: April 06, 2017
Learn to Build an App Scholarship
Amount: $1,000 | Deadline: May 31, 2017
Bruce Lee Foundation Scholarship Program
Amount: $1,000 | Deadline: June 10, 2017
Alexia Foundation Student Grants
Amount: Various Amount | Deadline: January 31, 2017
Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship
Amount: $10,000 | Deadline: December 02, 2015