Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship

Scholarship Provided by : Association of Certified Fraud Examiners

Scholarship Amount

Various Amount

Application Deadline

January 27, 2017


Through the Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship, the ACFE Foundation supports the education of students who have an interest in pursuing a career in fraud examination. The scholarship provides an opportunity for students to advance their education and anti-fraud career paths. Many of these outstanding and deserving students go on to become Certified Fraud Examiners.

 The Ritchie-Jennings Memorial scholarship award amounts are $10,000, $5,000, $2,500, and $1,000. Scholarships are awarded in U.S. dollars and include a one-year ACFE Student Associate membership . Awards will be paid directly to the award recipient’s university.


Scholarship applicants must currently be enrolled full-time and similarly enrolled during the 2015-2016 academic year at an accredited, four-year college or university. Applicants must have a declared major or minor in accounting, business administration, finance or criminal justice and demonstrate a desire to pursue a career in fraud examination or similar anti-fraud profession.


Applicants must meet the following requirements in order to be eligible: 

Undergraduates must be enrolled 9 semester hours (or equivalent) per term

Graduates must be enrolled 6 semester hours (or equivalent) per term

Be currently enrolled at an accredited, four-year college or university with enrollment through the 2015-2016 academic year

Submit a Completed Ritchie-Jennings Memorial Scholarship application

Provide Official Transcript(s) showing all completed college or university courses

Three letters of recommendation must be submitted on behalf of the applicant*


*At least one letter is preferred to be from a Certified Fraud Examiner (CFE). Students are encouraged to meet with a Local ACFE Chapter to become acquainted with a CFE. Additional Letters of Recommendation should be requested from an individual who may be familiar with your fraud-related activities, interests, goals, and anti-fraud career path such as an instructor or employer.

During the application process, you will provide information on three recommenders. These individuals will receive a link to upload their individual letters of recommendation on your behalf.


The following persons are not eligible to apply: 

Past scholarship award recipients

High school students (including seniors)

Junior college or community college students

College or university students graduating in 2014 (students must be enrolled through 2015)


2016-2017 Scholarship Schedule:

Application Opens – September 2015

Application Deadline – completed online by February 5, 2016

Scholarship Award Recipients Announced – April 17, 2016 

Scholarship Awards Distributed – April 30, 2016 


Selection and Non-discrimination Policy

Scholarships are awarded annually on the basis of:

Completed scholarship application 

Fraud-related interests, activities, goals and desired career path.

Overall academic achievement demonstrated by transcripts

Letters of recommendation

The ACFE Foundation does not discriminate on the basis of race, religion, color, national origin, age, gender, disability or sexual orientation in any of its programs or activities.

African American, American Indian, Asian, Caucasian, Hispanic, Pacific Islander
Freshmen, Sophomore, Junior, Senior, Graduate Students

Similar Scholarships

Academic Merit Scholarship
Amount: $2,500 | Deadline: April 06, 2017
Learn to Build an App Scholarship
Amount: $1,000 | Deadline: May 31, 2017
Bruce Lee Foundation Scholarship Program
Amount: $1,000 | Deadline: June 10, 2017
Alexia Foundation Student Grants
Amount: Various Amount | Deadline: January 31, 2017
Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship
Amount: $10,000 | Deadline: December 02, 2015